Yet Another Bargain Book Haul

These bargain hauls are becoming a bit of a habit. I didn’t set out this morning to go looking for books, but I discovered a new shop and found some great bargains begging to be bought. So here we go again.

Red Rising and Golden Son by Pierce Brown

I’ve been hearing such great things about this series that I couldn’t believe it when I saw both books in paperback for only £1 each. I know there’s a third in the series, but as it’s only just come out in hardback I think it will be a while before I find that one in the bargain bin. They’ve been hyped quite a lot, so I hope I enjoy them rather than wonder what all the fuss is about.

The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

girlgifts

I saw this one recently on Katie Loves To Read’s booktube channel. There’s not much of a synopsis on the cover, just lots of quotes from people saying it’s amazing. It was also only £1 so another great find.

Gillespie and I by Jane Harris

gillespie

This was another £1 bargain. I’ve heard of the author before, but not read her previous book. This one has had some good reviews and sounds quite interesting. It starts in 1933 London and goes back to the International Exhibition in Glasgow 1888. It’s quite a long book, so I’ll have to set aside a bit of time to get it read, but I’m looking forward to it and it will be a change from my usual reads.

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

lostthings

This was my last purchase and was also only £1. I’ve read a couple of John Connolly’s books and bought a couple of Omnibus editions on my last haul of his Charlie Parker books on kindle. It’s a bit of a change from his usual books and is about a twelve year old boy who lives in his attic bedroom with only his books for company. One day fantasy and reality start to merge and he finds himself in a land of myths and stories.

That’s it for this weeks bargain haul. I’d love to hear if any of you have read any of these books, and if you enjoyed them. There’s nothing better than finding a bargain, especially when it’s a book.

 

9 thoughts on “Yet Another Bargain Book Haul

      • martinhuxford says:

        I hate it when that happens, but then I’d be more gutted if I held off buying something then found out it was out of print and I’d missed my chance. It doesn’t tend to happen with major titles, but if it’s a lesser known title you never know how big the print run is and stores don’t always keep them in stock.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Taylor Reads Books says:

    I just finished The Girl With All The Gifts. It was a really interesting take on the genre and I actually really liked the ending. The little summary really doesn’t even scratch the surface and I’m afraid to say anything else lest I give something away!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah A. says:

    The Girl with all the Gifts is not typically my kind of read, but I really enjoyed it. Hopefully you will too! I hadn’t heard of The Book of Lost Things yet, totally going to check that out. Bargain books are the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

