The Secret Life Of A Book Blogger

I was tagged by the amazing Donna @ Chocolatenwaffles’ Blog to do this. Thank you so much. I love reading about other bloggers and now I get to tell you a bit about me. The object of the tag is to answer the questions, then nominate 5 more bloggers who you’d like to get to know a bit more about by them answering the same questions. So here we go with my answers:

How long have you been a blogger?

My first blog post was 16th June, so only a little over a month now. I’ve tried blogging a few times in the past, but I never really felt I was going anywhere until I discovered the book blogging community. I’ve been following booktubers for a while now and thought ‘now there’s a community I’d love to be a part of’. I’m not quite ready to post videos of myself, I don’t even like my photo taken, so that’s when a pretty wonderful book was born.

At what point do you think you will stop? 

I hope I won’t stop. I’m sure there will be times when I won’t feel like or can’t post something every week. We all need a holiday, and the world wide web isn’t quite world wide yet. But as long as there are new books and new authors to discover, then us book bloggers will always have something to rave or rant about.

What is the best part?

I love discovering new books and new bloggers. In the short space of time that I’ve been on here, I’ve already bought a few books based on other bloggers recommendations and reviews.

What is the worst part? 

There are not enough hours in the day. I love checking my reader to see all of the new posts from people I follow, and I try to comment and like as much as I can, but sometimes life takes over. I think everyone feels this way though, so I don’t worry too much.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

At the moment I’ve not created any artwork/photos exclusive to my blog. I’ve only uploaded official covers and a meme on another tag I did. I’ve seen some great work on other people’s blogs that really shows the time and originality that people put into their work. Maybe as my blog progresses I’ll add bits here and there to give it a bit of flavour.

Who’s your book crush? 

I’ve never had a book crush. I suppose there’s always time. I love to be immersed in a book, but I’ve never been deep enough to fall for any characters. Maybe I need to get in touch with my inner fangirl. lol.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

There are so many great authors out there. I’d say I’d love to have Stephen King on my blog, as I know he has very broad tastes in books, so we could talk about anything from Aristotle to Zombies (and maybe a little Dante).

What do you wear when you write your blog?

I usually write my post while relaxing on the sofa. I’m wearing a t-shirt and shorts at the moment, as it is unusually hot in the UK right now. I’m sure it won’t last, so I need to take advantage while I can.

How long does it take you to prepare a post? 

I haven’t done any long reviews yet, as I haven’t been here long, but I’d say maybe an hour on average – which includes finding covers to include with my haul posts. If I was doing a review though, I’d say a few hours as I’d probably write it up first and read it over a few times before typing it up to post.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture? 

I’ve not been blogging for long, but already I love how welcoming the book blogging community is. We’re all here because of our love of reading and it’s great how supportive everyone is. There are people of all ages and fans of every genre, so there’s something for everyone, and so far very little quarrelling.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog? 

Be yourself. Don’t try to copy others. When you blog about what you know and what get’s you excited then it will show in your blog. There’s nothing better than seeing the enthusiasm of another blogger and being able to relate to them.

I now nominate the following bloggers who I hope will enjoy answering the questions and nominating some more that they’d like to know a bit better.

Ashley @ Ashley Reads It

Meg@ Just A Bit Bookish Blog

Carrie @Carries Book Reviews

Amy @ Novelgossip

Lekeisha @ Lekeisha The Book Nerd

 

8 thoughts on “The Secret Life Of A Book Blogger

  1. Donna says:

    Congrats on reaching a month (and a few days) ! I remember it all felt a little overwhelming at first, with everyone posting amazing reviews and posts and using words like trope or TBR and I had no idea what it meant. It feels like ages ago, but my blog is not that old!
    I have never really paid attention to booktube, I tried to listen to videos a few times but only for listening and comprehension purposes. Yep, that’s how a language learner has fun, haha!
    Since I started reading reviews, my TBR is out of control. There are currently 54 books on my list, and it’s only because my bank account won’t let me get more.
    What about talking about a zombie version of Aristotle? I’m too much of a wuss for any discussion about zombies. I am so scared whenever I play Resident Evil.
    Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • martin @ aprettywonderfulbook says:

      Thanks! The month has passed so quickly, and like you my TBR has shot up. I knew a lot of the bookish terms from watching booktube, but I just google if come across something I don’t understand. I have extremely broad tastes in books as well as movies. If it’s done well, then I’ll give it a go. I love the Resident Evil movies. They’re pure escapism. Sometimes it’s good to turn off your brain and watch something just for the spectacle. 🙂

      Like

  2. justabitbookishblog says:

    Read “The Time Traveler’s Wife.” You’ll fall in love with Henry de Tamble and his wife – because every human being does – and then you’ll have two book crushes! Hahah. Great answers. Thanks for tagging me. Your blog is great! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

