August TBR

July wasn’t a very good month for me. I bought quite a lot, as you can see from my hauls, but I didn’t get much read. For August I’m not going to set much of a TBR, as I’m disappointed that I didn’t finish everything I wanted to for July.

The first 2 books I received advance copies from Netgalley for review, so I am determined to finish these and get reviews done before the release dates.

A Fine Bromance by Christopher Hawthorne Moss

Publication Date: 11th August 2016

bromance

When Robby starts his senior year in high school, he meets the new boy, Andy. Although Robby has never been physically attracted to anyone, he instinctively feels comfortable around Andy. As they get to know each other better, Robby realizes Andy is an outsider just like him, and harassment at the hands of the school’s bad boys makes it clear that Andy is a transboy.

When Robby’s eccentric Aunt Ivy finds some of her sentimental treasures missing, the boys put on their sleuthing hats to solve the mystery.

I haven’t read anything with a trans main character before and thought this one sounded interesting. I love a good mystery, and with the LGBT characters too it sounded like a good read.

Curious Minds by Janet Evenovich & Phoef Sutton

Publication Date: 16th August 2016

curious

Emerson Knight is introverted, eccentric, and has little-to-no sense of social etiquette. Good thing he’s also brilliant, rich and (some people might say) handsome.

Riley Moon has just graduated from Harvard. Her assertive (some people might say aggressive) spitfire attitude has helped land a dream job at Blane-Grunwald bank. At least, Riley Moon thinks it’s her dream job until she is given her first assignment: babysitting Emerson Knight.

An inquiry about missing Knight money leads to a missing man, missing gold and a life-and-death race across the country. Through the streets of Washington D.C., and down into the underground vault of the Federal Reserve in New York City, an evil plan is exposed. A plan so sinister that only a megalomaniac could think it up, and only the unlikely duo of the irrepressibly charming Emerson Knight and the tenacious Riley Moon could hope to stop it…

I love the Stephanie Plum mysteries, so when I saw this was the first in a new series I knew I had to read it. Janet Evanovich’s books are so funny, you can’t help but love the characters. I can’t wait to get this one read and hope I enjoy it as much as I am expecting to.

The next two books I have carried over from my July TBR, as I didn’t get them read. They were both supplied to me by the authors, so I feel that I’d be letting them down if I didn’t finish them. They are:

Hand Over Fist by Michael Ross & I Was A Teenage Ghost Hunter by Brian K. Henry

That’s it for my August TBR. If I fit any more in then I’ll either detail them in a wrap up or post separate reviews. You’ll definitely be seeing reviews for the above 4 books, and hopefully some more that I finished last month. I’ll try not to over estimate my TBR’s in the future. I think I got a bit over enthusiastic with the excitement of my new blog. lol.

 

4 thoughts on “August TBR

Leave a Reply

