New York Times – By the Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Ashley @ Ashley Reads It to do this tag. I was going to leave it until the weekend, but I have so much to get done that I thought I’d do it now while I have the time spare.

1. What book is on your nightstand now?

I’m currently reading Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich and Phoef Sutton. I’m really enjoying it and you’ll be seeing a review soon, as I got it from Netgalley and need to finish it before the release date of 16th August 2016.

curious

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?

There are a lot of books that I’ve enjoyed, but to be truly great I think a book needs to affect your emotions. The last book that did that for me was The Night Listener by Armistead Maupin. This one really gave me the feels.

nightlistener

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I’d have to say Stephen King. I don’t know if I’d have any specific questions, other than where on earth does he get his ideas from.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

I have very broad tastes, so it wouldn’t be surprising to find anything on my shelves. lol.

5. How do you organise your personal library?

I have too many books to fit on my shelves and keep them organised. I do try to group books from the same authors together though. Even though I don’t have any kind of system, I still know where they all are though.

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?

I really want to read Jane Austen’s novels, but I never seem to get around to them. I feel I should read more classics, but always end up picking up something contemporary. I put this set on my Top Ten Tuesday – books to buy if I had a fully loaded gift card:

PCJA7-jane-austen-penguin-classics-angle-1200-450x450

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

I try not to dnf a book. Even if I’m not enjoying it I feel I should finish it, just to see if it can redeem itself. The last book I didn’t enjoy was A Fine Bromance by Christopher Hawthorne Moss. I was really looking forward to it and it just didn’t deliver for me.

8. What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I’ll give most things a try. I like a good mystery, something with a twist, or a contemporary I can relate to. I stay away from erotic romance though. It’s not my cup of tea.

9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

I really don’t know how to answer this one. I know Obama is an avid reader, so I’d say keep reading what you like and enjoy discovering new books.

10. What do you plan to read next?

I’ve just bought Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan, which was recommended to me by Doddy About Books. I’m looking forward to getting to it.

willgrayson

If you feel like doing this tag, then feel free to go right ahead. Let me know in the comments so I can check out your answers.

4 thoughts on “New York Times – By the Book Tag

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    I’m not a huge fan of John Green’s characters, but he’s a good writer, and I’ve heard some decent things about Will Grayson Will Grayson. I’ll look out for your review. I haven’t read one for this book yet. I own it but still haven’t read it after I was disappointed with two of his other books. I hope you like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kimmie.gg says:

    Do read more of Jane Austen’s novels! They’re all quite lovely, and I love them sooo much. I always try to finish a book, in case the ending is a redemption, so a DNF is very rare for me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. irena_bookdustmagic says:

    I also want to read all of jane Austin’s novels, but tbh it would be good to read even few. at least.
    I bought myself all 7 of her novels in English and started reading Pride and Prejudice, but in all honesty, reading it in English was a bit too har for me so I decided to give it a try another year when my English will improve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

