A Fine Bromance – Review

bromance

Title: A Fine Bromance

Author: Christopher Hawthorne Moss

Genre: YA/Romance/LGBT

Publisher: Harmony Ink Press

Publication Date: 11th August 2016

When Robby starts his senior year in high school, he meets the new boy, Andy. Although Robby has never been physically attracted to anyone, he instinctively feels comfortable around Andy. As they get to know each other better, Robby realizes Andy is an outsider just like him, and harassment at the hands of the school’s bad boys makes it clear that Andy is a transboy.

When Robby’s eccentric Aunt Ivy finds some of her sentimental treasures missing, the boys put on their sleuthing hats to solve the mystery.

I was really looking forward to this, as I haven’t read anything with a trans main character before, but I’m afraid to say that I didn’t enjoy it very much. From the description I was expecting The Hardy Boys with a twist, but the mystery that is mentioned doesn’t really play much of a part in the story at all. To be honest, I don’t know why it was included, as it didn’t add anything to the plot. I would have preferred it if it had been left out and more had been included about the relationship between Robby and Andy. I think we do need strong LGBT characters in YA and other genres so that young people can see that they’re not alone, and they shouldn’t be afraid to be who they are. But, there needs to be a strong storyline to go with it. This just seemed to be a very basic story with lots of LGBT terms thrown in, as though the author had a checklist to include as many diverse characters as possible in the books short length.

I hate being so negative about it, but I was really hoping for more and I didn’t get it. I wish I could recommend it, just for the way it included so many descriptions of the different terms regarding gender and orientation, but I feel the story wasn’t strong enough to keep the average reader interested.

I’d love to hear if anyone else has read this, and what their thoughts are. Am I being too harsh? Are there any YA books with LGBT characters you’d recommend?

(I received a copy of this book from Netgalley for review.)

3 thoughts on “A Fine Bromance – Review

  1. kimmiegg says:

    It’s too bad this book was not as good as you’d hoped/expected. I read other reviews as well, and in general everyone seemed excited that there was a book featuring a trans main character.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. doddyaboutbooks says:

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. For me the characters and storyline were way too simplistic. Regarding other LGBTQ YA, Will Grayson, Will Grayson is one of my favourites. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is also great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

