Rapid Fire Book Tag

Thank you Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek for tagging me. I have a few tags to catch up on and this seemed like the quickest, so I thought I’d do it first. I know, I’m lazy, but I don’t have a Waiting On Wednesday today and wanted to get something posted before the end of the day. lol.

This tag was originally created by Kate @ Girl Reading who does great booktube videos, so go and check her out.

cropped-girlreading-header-blue

Now, on to the questions:

E-Book or Physical Book?

I love a physical book, but I’m finding that I’m reading more e-books lately. It’s so easy to throw my kindle into a bag and take it anywhere. I’ll still always have plenty of physical books though, as I like a full bookshelf.

Paperback or Hardback?

Hardbacks are great, but they’re too costly for me to buy every book I want and they take up more space than paperbacks too.

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

Online is great for bargains, and you can find books that aren’t in stock at a high street store. I do love a good browse around a physical store though, and there are a couple of discount stores close to me which is a bonus.

Trilogies or Series?

I don’t mind as long as there’s a proper ending. I hate it when a book leaves you hanging, and even though I love a good series sometimes it’s best to quit while you’re ahead. Trying to stretch out a series to ‘just one more book’ can ruin it.

Heroes or Villains?

Heroes. I like a good villain, but I’ll always root for the good guy.

A book you want everyone to read?

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I loved this book and think everyone should read it.

simonvs

Recommend an underrated book?

Tony & Susan by Austin Wright. This seems to be a bit of a love it or hate it book. I read it years ago and I loved it.

tonysusan

The last book you finished?

Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich & Phoef Sutton. I really enjoyed this one. I’ve read a few of the Stephanie Plum books so knew what to expect and I wasn’t disappointed.

The Last Book You Bought?

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes. I’ve heard good things about this book, so I’m hoping I enjoy it. It just arrived today, so it’s going on my shelf until I have a space in my tbr for it.

shininggirls

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

Nothing is weird as long as it’s dry and flat. lol. I hate creased spines, so if I have to put a book down and don’t have a bookmark handy then anything lying around will do.

Used Books: Yes or No?

Definitely Yes! I’ve bought quite a few from the Amazon Marketplace lately. You have to find a good seller though, as sometimes they’re listed as like new or very good, and they’re most definitely not. I only paid £2 for The Shining Girls in hardback, so you can save a fair bit buying used.

Top Three Favourite Genres?

YA Contemporary, Mystery, Horror.

Borrow or Buy?

Definitely buy. I love my collection and would hate to not own a copy of a book that I loved.

Characters or Plot?

It depends what you mean. You can’t have a book without both. If you mean which drives the book more, then I love a good character driven book. But if it’s a mystery then the plot comes first.

Long or Short Books?

Short. i.e. 250-350 pages average. I’ll read a longer book, but I’m not a quick reader. I think 600 pages is about the max otherwise I’d start to feel I’d never finish it.

Long or Short Chapters?

I don’t mind. Not too short though (I’m looking at you James Patterson).

Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King (one of my favourite authors)

The Fog by James Herbert (I saw it today in a charity book sale)

The Stand by Stephen King (As we’ve just mentioned long books, this one came to mind)

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

Both. If it can affect your emotions then it’s a sign of a good book.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Our world. I’ve never really gotten into Fantasy/Sci-Fi books. I prefer to read about things I can relate to.

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

No. I like to read at my own pace and would tune out and miss most of the book if I had to listen to it.

Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

All the time. I know it’s bad, but it’s the first thing you see and if it doesn’t grab you then you’re not going to pick it up.

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

TV. I don’t think a movie can cover everything from a book. They always leave too much out. There are some good ones in both, but I think TV gives more scope.

A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

The Howling. Classic movie. OK book.

Series or Standalone’s?

Standalone’s. I prefer a story to be wrapped up in one book.

I’m not going to tag anyone, as I have so many of these tags to catch up on, but feel free to give this one a go if you fancy.

 

10 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Awesome answers! I bought Salem’s Lot tonight in the big paperback version just because. I think I will re-read it though. The prose in that novel is brilliant. Stephen King is a writing God. I love him! 🙌 No one can hold a candle to him in my mind. I’m so glad his best book and my favorite is also yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

