It’s Bargain Book Haul Time

I’m so glad I’m good at finding bargains, as if I wasn’t then I’d have no money left. I do need to cut back though, as I’m never going to find time to read them all if I don’t. My spare room also looks like a library – which I don’t think is a bad look. It just might be a bit claustrophobic for guests. Here we go with this weeks bargains:

4 Books by Sophie Hannah

I love a good crime novel, and these definitely fall into this category. Sophie Hannah is a great writer. As well as novels, she also writes short stories and poetry. I already have her first three books on my kindle, so when I saw these included in a 3 for £5 deal I thought I’d add them to my collection.

How Not To Disappear by Clare Furniss

notdisappear

I was a bit surprised to see this one in the 3 for £5 deal, as it hasn’t been out long. It’s had some really good reviews and I’ve been wanting to read it.

Look At Me by Jennifer Egan

lookatme

This was the last of my 3 for £5 purchases. It’s about a model who after a car crash needs reconstructive surgery and is unrecognisable as her former self. The blurb on the back doesn’t say much more, but I thought it sounded interesting and it made up the numbers for the deal. lol.

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

walledcity

This one was only £1 and just the cover drew me to it. The story is fiction, but the author got the idea after hearing about Kowloon’s Walled City. It’s about three children who work together to try and find a way out of the city to a better life.

Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine

firecolourone

This one was also only £1. I’d heard of it before, so for £1 I thought I’d give it a go. It’s quite a short book, but sounded quite interesting. It’s about a girl who tries to stop her mother from getting her hands on the art collection of her recently reacquainted father.

The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey

girlmidnight

This was the last of my £1 buys. The main reason I bought it is because it says it’s set in the New York Public Library, and I couldn’t resist a setting like that.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

monstercalls

I’ve been hearing quite a bit about this one, some of it good and some of it a bit meh. I think it’s the kind of book that you have to be in the right mood to read. I’ve also seen that the movie will be coming out soon, so I wanted to read it before then, so that I could compare the two. I managed to get the illustrated paperback for £2.41, which I thought was a good price.

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

grasshopper

I saw a review of this one on Lekeisha The Booknerd and decided it sounded so weird that I had to read it for myself. Who could resist a giant praying mantis? lol. I got the paperback of this for £2.80.

The Girl In The Red Coat by Kate Hamer

girlredcoat

This was one that I heard Peter Likes Books mention on his youtube channel. It was only 99p in the Kindle daily deals, so I thought I’d grab it while it was on offer.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

carryon

I know Rainbow Rowell has a huge following and this is her latest book, so when I saw the Kindle edition for £1.89 I thought I’d give her a go.

The Vegetarian by Han Kang

vegetarian

I’d been hearing good things about this Man Booker Prize winner, when it popped up in the Kindle daily deals for only £1.19. I’m sure Amazon must be stalking me, as a few times something has appeared in their deals that I’d just been looking at. Spooky.

I think that’s enough bargains for today, as that’s 14, and it will take me months to get through everything I’ve bought lately. And this is turning out to be a very long post. Let me know if you’ve read any of these and what you thought of them.

 

11 thoughts on “It’s Bargain Book Haul Time

  1. Lynn says:

    Have you read any of Rainbow Rowell’s other books? I read Eleanor and Parka and liked it (though not the rushed ending), but I was not very impressed with Fangirl. The fanfiction was the best part for me so maybe I’ll give Carry On a chance too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Poppy says:

    That’s a really great haul! I read ‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness late last year and I thought it was fantastic! It wasn’t what I was expecting: I was thinking it was going to be a horror story, but it’s not like that at all. Hope you enjoy it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

